IETLS WRITING TASK 2 - Museums and art galleries

Museums and art galleries should concentrate on works that show history and culture of their own country rather than works of the other parts in the world. To what extent do you agree or disagree? (Agree or Disagree)

There is a growing belief that museums and exhibiting rooms should focus on works that demonstrate national history and culture instead of foreign counterparts. While I recognize the merits of dignifying national works, a combination of domestic and international art exhibitions will bear greater benefits.

On the one hand, people argue that countries should concentrate on showing their historical and cultural features through artwork to cultivate inhabitants' patriotism as well as for their art development. Pieces of art that excellently depict a country's heroic history or its beautiful culture should be placed in museums. These works of art show the great value of a country, building a strong foundation for people's national pride, thereby encouraging them to contribute to their country's growth. Moreover, this focus will also highlight the importance of national artists who devote their talent and effort to the art field. For example, revenues generated from selling art gallery tickets can be extracted to finance local artists whose artwork is exhibited. This support will pave the way for more talents to engage in artwork. Thus, prioritizing national works of art not only fosters a sense of patriotism but also facilitates art development within a country.

Conversely, I believe that exhibiting global artwork also offers equal advantages. Displaying international pieces of art acts as an opportunity for countries to exchange their cultures. This interaction lays the groundwork for a profound understanding of nations' cultures around the world, fostering strong friendship and cooperation among them, which eventually benefits their national development as a whole. Moreover, overseas artwork displays also bring educational value. Having a chance to be exposed to masterpieces enables artists to broaden their artistic knowledge, from studying techniques of drawing, and shading objects to interpreting characters' emotions. Take 'Monalisa' for instance, its presence has pushed standards of a painting to another level when Leonardo De Vinci showed striking meticulousness and accuracy in his artwork. It has not just served for the exhibition but also for study purposes, demanding modern painters to keep breaking their limits and increasing artistic values.

In conclusion, although some argue that museums and art galleries should focus on their pieces of art which feature their own history and culture, I firmly contend that a balanced approach, exhibiting both national and international artwork will offer great outcomes, both facilitating national and artistic development in many aspects.