Important as classes and libraries are for students, health and social skills are also the keys

TOEFL-Do you agree that at universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support?

Important as classes and libraries are for students, health and social skills are also the keys for them to successes. Some people may ignore the importance of sports and social activities because they are irrelevant to their scores. As a social animal, however, people's ability are not only presented by grades but also shown by practical application.

Sports and social activities are good for our health, both physical and spiritual. Doing sports can keep people fit so that they can study more efficiently. My friend Tom has got such a great progress in study since he joined a surfing club. Surfing made him stronger and smarter and now many girls prefer to consult him about study. As for social activities, people can get rid of the pressure of study and make some friends who can share the same interest with them. Providing enriched recreational activities, sports and activities can make people healthier and happier.

What sports and social activities teach people cannot be replaced by knowledge from books. Sports can show us the importance of persistence. Last year, it took me a great courage to take part in a marathon competition and it took me greater bravery to finish it. The process was really painful because I could see neither the end nor hope. From this experience I realized that as long as we are persisting, we will be definitely successful. And social activities can how us how to communicate with other people. Thus, sports and social activities are really good teacher for our life study.

Classes and libraries, certainly, are still indispensable. Knowledge of the books is easy to get so study in classes and studying in libraries is more convenient than studying through sports and social activities. If people want to get more improvement during the period of universities and colleges, they should regard the two methods as equal and combine these two ways. Therefore, sports and social activities should regard as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.