How to improve road safety? - IELTS WARRIOR

Some people think that the best way to improve road safety is to increase the minimum legal age for driving a car or motor-bike. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some believe that heightening the limitation of legal age for driving motor-bike or a car is the best solution to enhance traffic safety. I support this statement to the extent that it can prevent traffic accidents; however, I consider that strengthening law enforcement is a better measure as it raises public awareness.

I am convinced that the reduction of traffic accidents can be achieved by increasing the minimum age of driving car or riding motor-bike. The lack of awareness of using these means of transport of teenagers directly contributes to the potential danger of both themselves and other drivers because they often do not have enough skills to deal with urgent situations. For example, many adolescents in Vietnam tend to use powerful motor bikes when they are given permission. However, due to not having a calm and rational mind as experienced individuals when they need to do emergency braking to avoid a crash, they are attributed to one of the major causes of traffic accidents in this nation. Hence, by widening the legal age, teenagers can gain more knowledge and experiences to improve their reflection and be decisive, thereby alleviating the number of accidents,

Although increasing the legal age is a viable solution, I believe that there are many better ways to promote safety on the road, including implementing stricter laws which raises people's awareness. If governments impose a harsh punishment on lawbreakers, they may have a better awareness about their actions because of the fear of losing finance, thus creating a sense of community. To illustrate, Vietnamese authorities have increased remarkably the penalty of running a red light which makes more citizens obey this regulation, leading to the reduction of traffic accidents rate. As a result, the legal age is not a major concern since many people have a deeper understanding of the consequences of wrongdoings when witnessing some pay price when they strive to bend or break the rules.

In conclusion, I agree with the statement to the extent that increasing the legal age of using particular means of transport results in road security as it decreases the number of traffic accidents. Nonetheless, I consider that strengthening law enforcement is a better solution due to fostering public understanding.