Task 2: an increase in the number of parents who educate their children themselves at home

In some countries, there has been an increase in the number of parents who educate their children themselves at home instead of sending them to school. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Homeschooling has become a popular trend in recent years. I believe that the benefits of children being educated at home is eclipsed by its drawbacks regarding educational environment and children's social skills.

Homeschooling can provide children with a personalized educational environment. Based on children's capabilities and strengths, parents can plan on suitable subjects and syllabus. For example, some childs like numbers and have great competence in numeracy, so parents can construct curriculum centralizing on Math and subjects in natural science to further enhance the child's potential. Therefore, learning at home gives kids the opportunity to expand their knowledge in a nurturing environment without putting excessive pressure on their academic performance. This is especially true when it comes to students diagnosed with special education needs.

However, the advantages of homeschooling are clouded by its disadvantages, as students can develop social skills and access a more well-structured curriculum going to school. Schools create opportunities for kids to interact with different people, including teachers and friends. This helps them to develop social skills such as communication, teamwork, collaboration, etc. These social skills build essential character traits like respectfulness, responsibility, fairness and caring, which will be valuable to their future growth and career path. Besides, compared with homeschooled children who struggle to attain accredited qualifications, students sent to schools access a more synchronized and well structured curriculum, allowing them to easily follow further education. Thus, homeschooled children will likely have more limited opportunities to pursue tertiary education and build a successful career.

In conclusion, I contend that there will be more drawbacks than benefits of homeschooling education.