IELTS Task 2: Increasing fuel price is best way to solve traffic.agree or disagree?

Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What others measures do you think might be effective?

With the tremendous increment in numbers of private vehicles these days, traffic congestion and pollution has increased. Traffic congestion and pollution has become one of the biggest problem in urban areas which need to be addressed and solved as quickly as possible. Some people believe that increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problem. I believe that this idea will bring certain changes to some extent but it is the obvious solution for the above problems.

First of all, it is important to find the root cause of the growing traffic and pollution problems, to solve it. One of the root cause for this is increasing numbers of private vehicles. Increasing price of petrol helps in limiting number of private vehicles to some extent but it will not be long lasting. Besides, rise in price of petroleum will have negative impacts in others fields as well. For instance price of foods, goods ,commodities will rise with increase in transportation cost. Government has to key role in controlling it. Government has to make strict rules and regulations on getting license and it can also impose higher tax on automobiles and spare parts to discourage the use of private vehicles.

Previously, public vehicles was only means of transportation that's why there was not much of traffic congestion as well as pollution. It is necessary to improve facilities on the existing public vehicles. Public transport should be made affordable, easily available and safe as especially female find it uncomfortable traveling in public vehicles alone. Proper training should be given to drivers and conductors especially about safe driving, where to pick up and drop the passangers and how to behave politely with them. Besides this, government should discourage the use of old vehicles lets say 20 years old vehicles as they emit more pollutant than new ones. And there must be the provision or certain standards about checking the emission of vehicles. If vehicle met that standard they should be encouraged to use and viceversa.

In a nutshell, it is not the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution by increasing fuel price as it will also affect other areas and it is better to improve public transport and encourage people to use it.