INCREASING SEA LEVELS CAUSED BY GLOBAL WARMING

QUESTION:

Global warming is one of the biggest threats humans face in the 21st Century and sea levels are continuing to rise at alarming rates. What problems are associated with this and what are some possible solutions?

ANSWER :

Today, the most serious issue that people face caused global warming is the increase of sea levels. This would lead to the inundation in coastal area and a solution that can overcome this problem is building a dam.

The main problem caused by global warming is the rise of sea levels leading to the inundation in coastal zone. Flood happens as the land nearby the beach is lower than sea level. This catastrophe will cause epidemic diseases such as diarrhea mainly striking children. Also, such disaster will halt human daily routines, causing the weakening economic rate. In 2009, Korea government said that 69% people chose to move to comfort zone while 31% preferred to stay at home as long as flood drowning their homes.

One of solutions which can be taken to cope with the problem is the construction of sea barrier in coastal area. Even though this solution will cost much money, its positive impact can be felt for long term. During 1990, Rotterdam government established Maeslantkering consisting of two huge gates which can open and close automatically to adjust the sea level.

To sum up, the most common problem that people are deal these days is the increasing sea levels caused by global warming. This will cause flood in coastal zone but building flood barriers nearest coastal area will solve this phenomena. Whereas possible, government should provide expense for this project.