IELTS - 'infrastructure' - How to solve growing traffic and pollution problems

Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

What other measures do you think might be effective?

There has long been a debate about whether escalating the price of oil or not, so that we could control increasing traffic and pollution problems. With the improvement of our living standard, more and more people can afford cars, what cause many questions. From my part, price is not the nicest policy or solution for this, and in the following, I would like to present my point of view.

First of all, it is undeniable that growing the price could decline traffic more or less, especially for residents of city. But if the time and money they take on other modes of transport is much more than the price of petrol, they are predicted not to do that.

Further more, diverse contributing factors can be identified in pollution and industrial enterprise occupied the most. Thus it is easy for us to find that the profit they get outdistances the range of rising price of oil.

For all of these above, from my part, increasing the price is not a wonderful way and the only way. From my perspective, I think the reason for more and more people purchase cars is inconvenient of their lives. So government should improve infrastructure, such as suburb, trolley and bus for making our lives more convenient and timely. And for those industrial companies, local authority could use new technologies to decrease their emissions. Last, but not the least important, something about environmental protection should be informed to everybody in our nation.