International communication online. Distance is not a main problem in connecting people anymore.

Some people think that being able to communicate with others online is breaking down geographical barriers and enabling people, who would normally never have a chance to meet, to communicate.

What are the advantages of international communication online?

Are there any disadvantages to this?

(IELTS task 2)

Online communication has been advanced nowadays. Distance is not a main problem in connecting people as it used to. Moreover it brings an opportunity to make a relationship and friendship with someone in oversea. Beside of many benefits brought by international communication online, it also brings several drawbacks.

Internet is now used by a large number of people around the world . As a matter of fact, More than 3 billion people in the world are internet users, which social media users approximately reach 2,2 millions. It means that more than one third of population in the world are connected online. we can say that Geographical barriers are slightly eliminated. We just need to stay online to search people we want to meet or to have a chat with. In addition, online communication does not cost too expensive and much more affordable than before. Another advantage is to access information easily. Due to spreading internet connection in almost every place in the entire of the earth, news and information now are accessible and up-to-date. It will surely make people pampered and enable them to communicate with everybody elsewhere .

In spite of this, some drawbacks appear as well. Face-to-face communication can be slowly decreased. The more people go online, the less they have sometime to socialize with their environment. Hence, it can lead people to be selfish and ignorant. In another case, Because of unlimited accessing data online, some people try to misuse this facility. There is no limitation to upload and download data or information. Fraud and propaganda are common terms of abuse. To illustrate, some countries try to protect their citizen by banning some harmful website, some do even worse. North Korea restricts the society to access the internet, because the government possibly think that it is not proper to be consumed by the citizen or it could be forbidden to communicate with other people from other country. As a result, it can be a boomerang for online community.

In conclusion, people have a right to communicate with everybody from everyplace. They also have a right to access information. internet is a communication tool that provides those chances. What we need to understand is to utilize the facility wisely. Since it is developed in order to break communication barriers, it will never be true if we use it as a means of abuse.