People are now able to get communication or information effectively without thinking of distance

Modern technology is changing our world. This has advantages such as bringing people closer together through communication. It also has disadvantages such as destroying the differences between cultures. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

As the impact of modern technology, people are able to get communication or information quickly and effectively without thinking of distance. However, others argue the improvement has some drawbacks such as destroying the differences of cultures. Personally, I totally disagree in the second nation since as far as I consider technology help some community in rural area to show off its unique. This essay will first discuss how technology cannot destroy people's culture, and how it is able to present those differences.

Culture is that have lived in a community since ancient time, and it cannot be destructed by anything else, even technology. For instance, in my country, Indonesia, there are two districts that have different cultures. Before two centuries, those communities did not know what was mobile phone, how to use it, but when it was entered to the areas, it became popular and it had owned by almost all inhabitants there. Though, the technology had entered the place, all of traditions, arts, and culture activities still happened based on both districts beliefs. There is nothing change.

As a matter of fact, the technology is able to show that varies to other people. Taking a famous area in Sulawesi called Toraja as an example. Annually, inhabitants in that place hold an annual event namely "Happy Desember", it happens in beginning of December until the end. It aims for presenting Toraja's culture, traditional dances, also their attractive activities. At the first time, only some people knew it, but after it showed in television, and shared by people, enormous tourists have come, from local to overseas. It proves that technology is unable to destroy human's culture varies.

All in all, I believe that the presence of technology is for good purposing, in culture aspect, it is able to help community in small region for introducing its divergence.