International travel is extremely popular these days. What are the advantages and disadvantages?

travelling around cultures

Nowadays, travelling around cultures has grown up dramatically, become a prevalent and publicly recognized phenomenon. Due to the rapid development, his trend is a combination of both positive outcomes and inconveniences consequences.

It is obvious that international travel brings great benefits to people. A very common gain of these circumtances is the contribution to the economy of the host country. Taking Ha Long for example, attracts 5.2 million tourists from overseas (2018) to contemplate the UNESCO World Heritage Site, which make it become a paradise of job opportunity for locals and also the tourist agencies. This scenario could also be favorable in terms of motivating cultural exchange. In this case, the travelers are unconsciously distributing their country's specific to the others and directly taking pleasure in another culture, which make cultural assimilation become much more easier.

However, this popularity could be detrimental in terms of environment. International travel in specific and tourism in general put enormous pressure on local land use for hotels and facilities, on the demand of water and food, which will lead to deforestation, soil erosion or natural habitat loss. Commercialization of culture is another dangerous possibility. In Sapa, Vietnam, many people cannot speak Vietnamese as they are ethnic minority but they are fluently in English to communicate with oversea tourists.

In conclusion, it is clear that while this development has brought some positive changes, it has also made society vulnerable to some unpleasant ones. If we are able to balance these influences, international travel will still be extremely, perfectly indispensable in our lives.