Introducing young people to the work routines - IELTS Writing Task 2

You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Present a written argument or case to an educated reader with no specialist knowledge of the following topic.

In many countries children are engaged in some kind of paid work. Some people regard this as completely wrong, while others consider it as valuable work experience, important for learning and taking responsibility.

What are your opinions on this?

You should use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence. You should write at least 250 words.

There has been a novelty trend with regard to this globalization era that is work experience for children. Most people argue that this is an effective measure to introduce young people with work routines. However, others think it is not the appropriate time due to their physical and psychological development. I personally believe that this practice is acceptable in some extents although it will bring numerous consequences for children.

People who argue that having a job for children is beneficial based on some cited reasons. Firstly, young persons have a chance to sharpen their ability and grasp rudimentary skill in the workshop. Therefore, those prospective employee become more confident and proficient to enroll in the companies. Those people also become responsible towards their life. As children have experienced how to earn money, they can manage their financial matter when they grow up as an adult. Furthermore, they will be an independent person in the future.

On the other hand, most concern that it is potentially dangerous for children to participate in work experience for one main reason. Individuals in this young age have not been mature to deal with work pressure. Richard Edwards and his team from University of Otago, New Zealand, reveals that two of ten children took either part-time or full-time job tend to suffer self disorders, particularly serious headache. As a result, they consider to take early retirement.

In conclusion, while having a job for children offers numerous advantages, it can be harmful for their health. Therefore, parents should pay more attention in this case.