GRE issue essay of claim and reason type

Claim: Even though young people often receive the advice to "follow your dreams," more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals.

Reason: Many people's dreams are inherently selfish.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim AND the reason on which that claim is based.

"follow your dreams"

"Today's young minds are tomorrow's future of the country", said a famous freedom fighter and former Prime Minister of India Jawaharlal Nehru. Thus, as the claim states, it is importance for young people to follow their dreams and emphasis should be laid on refining dream into action plan that is achievable. However, the reason is not completely justified.

A.P.J Abdul Kalam, a renowned scientist rightly said that, "A man without dreams is equivalent to bird without wings." Every man should have his goals and objectives in life. But where most young people fail is to channelise the dreams and show right direction to it. The claim emphasis on the need to set right goals which is completely agreeable. According to the reason provided, right goals have to be set because most dreams of people are selfish and greedy. But this might not be always true. Most young minds have intuition to achieve good and sane things.

The need for importance to be given to picking worthy goals has many other reasons. Firstly, youth lacks proper direction. For example, young A.P.J Abdul Kalam was drawn towards astronautics and aeronautics. If his teacher in school would have recognised his interest and guided him to carry out a course on Astronautics, India would have a missed an amazing talent of Kalam.

Secondly, youth are fascinated by power and money and thus, their dreams would be based on these factors than true passion and zeal.

Hence, proper guidance and career counselling should be given all young minds. It would be great change if career counselling is including as part of college or school curriculum. For example, I have seen most of my friends rushing to Computer Science Engineering course just to earn money without any interest towards the subject and most parents support the same. This should be changed and right direction should be showed.

It can also be agreed to some extent that people dreams sometimes are selfish. They are selfishly driven to earn money and live a life of luxury. This is the prime reason behinds thief, serial killers, terrorists, human trafficking,etc.

In summary, it is highly important for young people to dream and set right worthy goals for their own good and also for the global well being. But the importance to set right goals need not be just for the reason that young minds are driven by selfish motives but also because in most cases they lack guidance, direction and support.Totally, dream is a initial phase where as implementing and achieving the dream in right way is what matters eventually.