SAT; Judging a book by its cover

In a culture obsessed with superficial appearances, our leaders should be those who can see beyond the surface. Judging a book by its cover is the job of the new consumer, but reading the book- pondering its contents and perhaps seeking to write new chapters- is the job of a leader.

Assignment: How important is it to look beyond superficial appearances

In today's society, much emphasis is placed on the way one looks, dresses, or what one owns. Often we forget the morals and values taught to us by our elders, such as "never judge a book by its cover", among many other cliché expressions. They might be cliché, but they are still important for us to remember and follow nonetheless.

In George R.R. Martin's A Game of Thrones, Sansa Stark immediately fell in love with Joffrey Baratheon because of his handsome looks and social standing. She mistook his princely courtesies for kindness rather than the formalities a prince was supposed to practice toward others regardless of the way he felt about them. She wanted to be married to him so badly no matter the cost, that she was unkind to her sister Arya and told the queen of her father's intentions. As a result, she lost many of her loved ones, including her father, as well as her freedom, and she became bitter towards Joffrey.

In William Shakespeare's The Merchant of Venice, the lady Portia's suitors had to choose from three caskets in order to gain her hand in marriage. The first was gold, the second silver and the final lead. Her first suitor, the Prince of Morocco, erroneously chose the golden casket which contained an inscription which said he would gain what many men desire. He thought that it was a reflection of her beauty and social standing, and upon opening it, he received a skull containing the message "All that glitters is not gold". The second suitor, the Prince of Arragon, chose the silver casket, because of its inscription which said that he would gain what he deserved. He thought he was the most deserving of Portia, and upon opening it, he received a fool's portrait which had a message saying that he was also a fool for choosing the silver casket. Bassanio, who loved Portia regardless of her beauty and social standing, correctly chose the lead casket because he was willing to " give and hazard all he hath" to be with Portia.

The above two examples serve as illustrations that looks can be deceiving. Something or someone may be the best looking, but that does not necessarily mean that they have the best intentions for us. It is therefore important for us to look beyond superficial appearances.