Ielts essay on land availability in countryside

Q: In many places,new homes are needed, but the only space available for building them is in the countryside.Some people believe that it is more important to protect the countryside and not build new homes there

What is your opinion?

countryside space for new buildings

A:

It is indeed the fact that the requirements to build new homes are posing serious threat to the available land in the countryside. Few people that argue that it is of utmost importance to protect the countryside land due to construction of new homes. Whereas, others hold an opposite opinion. I second my outlook with the former argument of supporting the idea of protecting the land in the countryside and this essay has been addressed accordingly.

Due to urbanisation, people are migrating from rural areas to urban areas which poses additional pressure on the available land. To cater the need, people are chopping down trees in the countryside due to the space available there. This leads to deforestation and a drastic increase in pollution because of the non-availability of trees. To be more precise, Delhi's air pollution levels had increased to such an extent that people suffering from asthma could not breathe in and were admitted to the local hospitals.Not only this, construction of buildings in the countryside would destroy the natural habitat which ultimately leads to increase in the number of homeless animals. Moreover, increase in population will put a tremendous pressure on the groundwater levels also. To exemplify, in Bengaluru the groundwater level has gone down to 2000 feet and will lead to great water crisis in future. And hence, countryside land should not be used to construct buildings.

On the contrary, few people support the idea of building more homes in the countryside. The primary reason behind this thought is that there is an increase in the number of homeless people.Due to which, people are forced to stay on the streets which give birth to unhygienic surroundings. And hence, to escape unhygienic conditions people prefer to construct buildings on the available land.

In conclusion, it is clear that if the countryside space will be used to construct buildings then it will have devastating consequences on the environment as well as on the flora and fauna.And hence, people should explore alternate solutions rather then destroying natural habitats exisiting in the countryside for constructing new houses.