[IELTS] - Larger shopping areas or corner shops?

An increasing number of larger shopping areas, malls and department stores are leading to the decline of smaller corner shops. What are the advantages and disadvantages of shopping in larger shopping centers rather than smaller, more traditional shops?

larger shopping areas are dominant

Together with the dominant development of modern technology, it is undoubtedly true that larger shopping areas like supermarkets, malls or department stores are reinforcing their firm position to customers. If in the past, we were used to small outlets, in this day and age, extensive areas to go shopping are much more prevalent. Taking it into consideration, I will point out two main benefits and one major disadvantage of an issue that is citizens are tend to shop in bigger shopping centers rather than mini traditional ones.

To commence with, it is indisputable that consumers get safety in purchasing and selecting what they need. Because every product sold in supermarket has its own label with obvious sources, buyers will not feel too worried or afraid of fake goods. Quality of commodities is always a big concern of managers. It is a main factor to make up the trust and keep customers beside diverse and mutitudinous thing. One side that can not forget to mention is cost, the price is fixed and depends on manufacturers, hence, purchases in trade hubs do not need to bargain and have to pay the exact expense.

Another merit of shopping in broader department stores instead of corner shops is some preferential treatments that shoppers are given. It is an intelligent way to attract and assure a number of customers. Provided that you usually go shopping in this center, assistant can present you a member card with special offers, for example, you buy one skirt, then you will be given another. Furthermore, discount events and giveaway are often held, so if you want to join and give it a try to know how you are lucky, you are welcomed.

Nevertheless, everything has two sides. Taken a look at drawbacks, larger shopping centers are somewhat inconvenient in several aspects. For instance, when you bought a T-shirt but after dressing up at home, it is too tight for you, you really want to take it back and change another one, unfortunately, it can not be accepted in supermarket. Whereas, you find it much easier to own what you want while buying in a smaller outlet as the trader is more flexible to you. In addtion, the outstanding advantage of corner shop lies in diversification of good choices of a particular range of products. It is specialized in machines or comestics, and so on with competitive cost, so you can take it into acoount and decide what to purchase carefully. Many small outlets, unquestionably, are located in narrow cormer and you may go to there every time. By contrast, shopping hubs are on big streets, this prevents you from buying when being on the go because they are too far from your apartment.

In conclusion, the appearance along with the remarkable development of more extensive shopping areas, and malls is also proved the prosperity of a city, thus, it is a positive tendency and authority should concern it more in order to filfil some shortcomings and improve exceptional strengths.