You learn foreign languages because you are going to work or travel in a particular country. IELTS

Foreign languages knowledge

Question: Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or to work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

Answer: In modern times there are many courses and schools for learning a foreign language such as English, Spanish, French, Russian. The most common reason for studying a foreign language is because you are going to work or to travel in a particular country. But nowadays people start learning a different language not only for this but also because they want to enrich their culture and to communicate with more and more people.

Firstly, travelling and working in a foreign country without knowing the native language is one of the most difficult things. For instance if I am going to work in some German company I will be obliged to learn Germany because without knowing it I will not be able to communicate with the other people if they don't know English for example. But in our everyday life not many people can separate time and money for studying language just for pleasure and this is one of the reasons why people learn a foreign language when it's necessary.

Secondly, there are many people who just learn a foreign language because it is a pleasure for them to know more about the country or the people who live there. There are so many websites that you can communicate with people all over the world and to exchange information about the life in the different areas of the world. For example I have a friend whose favorite country is Japan. She is so attached to it that she started to learn the language because she wanted to find more about their culture and to communicate with Japanese people.

All in all, no matter what you work or where you live knowing and studying a foreign language always will be an advantage for you because you will be able to find work easier, to communicate with different people and to enrich you knowledges.