Is the only reason for learn languages is to travel and work overseas or not. Discuss both views.

the purpose of travelling and working overseas

Travel overseas or working in an international environment are supposed by some people to be the sole reason for studying other languages. However, others argue that they are not the main excuse for this activity. From my point of view, the former opinion is not completely correct, since learning languages has a lot of advantages, which make people decide to master them.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that the opportunities of traveling and working in a foreign country is one of the reasons for learning languages. The ability to speak other languages fluently, especially English, Chinese,... gives you the chance to go abroad or become employees of oversea or multinational entrepreneurs and helps you get a brighter future since you can broaden your horizon and show off your talents. What's more, those companies are also famous for excellent facilities, high salary and good compensation, which make people want to study languages in order to work there.

However, the aforementioned thing isn't the aim of all learners. Personally, I think that the core function of languages is making communication become easier for those who come from different countries. For that reason, many people start learning another language with an aim of interacting more effectively with their counterparts, partners or making new friends. Moreover, in this globalization era, more and more documents are written in some common languages. As a result, the ability to understand these languages can help humans be exposed to a variety of knowledge all over the world. For example, university students tend to search for materials in English since most of the research results have English versions.

In conclusion, even though going and working overseas is a driving force for some people when learning new languages, it is not the only one purpose since benefits of being multilingual are countless, which results in many other aims.