LEAVING YOUR COUNTRY TO LIVE OR STUDY ABROAD: ADVANTAGES AND DISADVANTAGES

In some recent years, there has been an increasingly controversial issue as to whether people should emigrate to another country to make living or study abroad. While some argue that this will bring huge benefits, the opponents concern that there are some difficulties they have to overcome. In the following essay, its benefits and drawbacks will be discussed.

Firstly, the advantages of living in another country are undeniable. Going oversea, especially developed countries, is a good opportunity to broaden their horizons by exposing to well-rounded education system, which helps individuals improve themselves. Students will not only be taught by highly experienced professors in prestigious universities but also be supported by advanced facilities such as state-of-the-art laboratories or novel software. Another benefit is chance to work in multinational companies and this may be an crucial stepping-stone in their career path. The employees have chances to work in creative environment with salaries that is worth their efforts, For example, nowadays, more and more Asian students come to America to study Computer science and be employed by famous companies such as Microsoft, Facebook with desirable income after graduating.

However, it also is of many problems. The biggest obstacle is culture shock. When leaving for a new land, in the first times, people are more often than not fascinated by new culture, but just after some time, differences between the old and new culture such as language barriers become apparent and may create anxiety. Furthermore, racial discrimination is one of the aspects the emigrants should consider, especially when they tend to live in Western countries. The more racist there is, the more difficult to integrate into new society.

In conclusion, every garden has its weeds, going abroad to work or study has its pros and cons. People should have further consideration before making decision.