IELTS WRITING TASK 02 - IT LESSONS AND THE USE OF COMPUTERS IN CLASSES

Task 2: Nowadays, many schools use computers during classes as a way to motivate children and to teach them IT skills. How important is it to teach children to use computers? Do you think using computers in class is a good idea?

The youngster's generation will definitely live in an even more state-of-the-art and more technological environment in the future, so to prepare for this trend, a number of schools are applying computer use in their classes. Personally, I believe that training in computer literacy for students is really essential, but I don't agree with the idea of using computers in classes for its several drawbacks.

In my opinion, students must be taught how to use computers as a major subject in their curriculum. One of the main reasons is that handling a computer is a must-have know-how in this modern day and age to live, to work, and to succeed. For example, with a person who lacks computer skills, that is not only a big disadvantage when applying for a job, but also having to deal with many important tasks such as making a presentation slideshow, compiling a report . Beside that, computer study at school is a valuable opportunity for students from all walks of life to access to information technology and learn computer-using skills. In society, not all families afford a laptop or computer, and not all parents have wide knowledge relating to technology in order to teach their children. Therefore, computer lessons are extremely useful, practical and give everyone an equal chance to develop this significant ability.

Considering whether students can use computers in classes, I contend that it should just be allowed in the IT lessons, but the remaining time is not. Computers can be a culprit which makes students lose their concentration. Except for the educational purpose, these high-tech devices are also a great source of entertainment. When students expose to computers regularly during school time, they can be attracted by video games or social media, which would lead to poor academic performance in the long term. Also, students can depend much on computers. Nowadays computers are relatively smart, with many virtual assistants like Chat GPT. It can be an effective tool to learn from, but also dangerous if students misuse it, like searching for the key of their assignments without thinking by themselves.

To summarize, my view is that learning IT is a must for students. On the other hand, using computers, a kind of smart device during classes might not be suitable because it affects students' focus on lectures and makes students dependable.