IELTS WRITING TASK 2 - TECHNOLOGY (COMPUTERS)

Computers are often argued to be the most important invention of the last hundred years.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Debate is rising amongst certain individuals about whether computers are the most crucial invention of the last hundred years or not. In this essay, I will give detailed rationales about why I hold the belief that this viewpoint is partially agreeable.

On the one hand, I partly adhere the the wisdom that computers play the most crucial role in the last century. Firstly, a myriad of troubles in their lives might undeniably emerge as a result of the lack of computers. For instance, without having an Internet-connected computer, a person may run into difficulties if they are forced to do tasks that are Internet-demanding. In addition, computers offer users with numerous benefits related to their jobs or study. Users can search for up-to-date information in lieu of going to companies to process documents. To cite a specific example, only when people possess their computers do they easily cope with accidental issues such as hitting deadlines, and negotiating with their counterparts without having to commute to their workplace. Therefore, the risk of encountering problems including traffic accidents might be mitigated as workers no longer have to travel to their workplaces.

On the other hand, from my perspective, computers are not considered the most pivotal gadgets as several disadvantages may undeniably emerge. The first reason is that lights from computer screens are extremely detrimental to people's eyes. Therefore, allocating a great deal of time to use computers might pose a serious threat to the eyes, and people can be afflicted with nearsightedness, which is exorbitant to cure. In addition, living a sedentary lifestyle with computers might lead to ailments related to the spinal cord. In the long run, individuals who contract those illnesses are not able to do domestic chores including vacuuming, washing, and repairing as these jobs are physically demanding.

To summarize, I strongly emphasize that computers played a vital role in the previous century; however, they are not the most dominant ones because of the above-mentioned reasons.