The life difficulties in a foreign country where you cannot speak your mother language

Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems

Globalisation has allowed people to travel to another country easier than it used to be. However, some think that living in a foreign country where you cannot speak your mother language can lead to severe social problem and difficulties in daily life.I partially agree that it can cause social problem and practical problem. However, these problems can be minimised.

Language is the most direct means of communication. Firstly, if people are unable to speak the foreign language, they feel a sense of isolated and even loneliness. Since it is hard to understand what others are saying or express themselves, they can make little friends due to language barrier. It is not easy for them to talk to others or ask others when they need help. They hence can feel lonely and being isolated by the community. Secondly, For those who leave their own country alone to another country to seek better career or life, they have to get a job to start a new life. However, without speaking the local language, they can hardly cope with tasks and deal with others. They may find it difficult to maintain their standard of living. Thirdly, it is hard for people to understand the pattern of living in the country, such as the traffic rules since they cannot understand the signs and instructions. It increase difficulties in daily living as well.

However, some people manage to overcome the obstacles. Learning the language is the most effective way. Other than that, people can also use other means of communication such as body language like a smile to show their kindness. Speaking a language is not the solo way to get people closer. The only thing is if you wish to try.

In conclusion, I partially agree that if one cannot speak the foreign language where he/she lives, it may cause some social and practical problem. However, with other means of communication, such problem can be minised.