IELTS Writing Task 2 - Live performance neccesity

Nowadays, live performances such as concerts and recitals are no longer necessary since these can be viewed online.

Do you agree or disagree?

The lockdowns brought about by the global pandemic have greatly impacted the music industry forcing them to explore and expand online platforms to share their artistry which was well-received by the public.

To begin, unlike in a live performance, the sound that will be heard and the images that will be seen would greatly be different, depending on the quality of equipment used by both the production and the user, as well as the processing capacity of the streaming sites. With the numerous processes undergone by the sound and images before it reaches the eyes and ears of the audience, the resulting experience will vary for each viewer. For instance, a person with a high-end speaker and strong internet connection will be able to listen with better sound clarity and watch on a higher resolution than someone with budget earphones and a lagging internet. This will result in an inconsistent individual experience.

What makes it less ideal is the lack of actual interaction not only for the fans but also for the performers. The authenticity of attending shows for most concert-goers, on one hand, is to be able to see artists up close and if fortunate enough, be able to converse with them through words or actions which is not possible in an online stream, although there could be opportunities to virtually interact like live chat rooms and shoutouts. On the other hand, for entertainers, it is the validation that they can receive through claps, for example, and other means that can only be possible in a live setting. Consequently, both sides would not be able to fully enjoy the experience.

In conclusion, since the accuracy and genuineness of artistic concerts are greatly impacted and vary, it is clear that live performances are still essential and relevant despite the availability of virtual platforms.