We look up people who have many unique qualities that make them our role models

We all have people that we look up to who have many unique qualities that make them our role models. While it is absolutely certain we get to have a lesson for life from their shining spots, their flaws are worthy to know as well, sine the people we admire are essentially humans that make mistakes. By learning about them, we get the opportunity to avoid similar problems and can even be inspired. An example is the IT star Steve Jobs, who is definitely an idol for me, as well as a great persona having certain imperfections.

Steve Jobs was the founder of Apple. He revolutionised the whole computer and mobile phone industry by creating innovative products like iPhones which have an amazing 48% market share. I most adore his concept that Apple stands on the crossroad of "technology and liberal arts". Nevertheless, though a zealous, even occasionally 'mad' Apple fan, I am aware of Jobs' various flaws, which could have forestalled his whole career. Jobs is surely not an affable leader, having been described as "erratic and temperamental". Strange traits such as putting his feet into the toilet bowl have also put may off at the early stage of the company's development. As a result of these characteristics, together due to an attempted "boardroom coup", Jobs was once fired from his own company under John Sculley. From this, I am able to conjecture and will always remember, no matter how talented one is, failing to act amiably can significantly hinder one's career path in whatever field.

Another example comes from Shakespeare's comedy "Much Ado About Nothing". Beatrice is my favourite character, a feminist that stands against men's overwhelming rule over women in a patriarchal society. Nevertheless, because she dislikes Benedick with no apparent reason, and since she is later "gulled" into falling in love with him, I believe her flaw is to pose a prejudice upon all men, nearly missing her love of life if Shakespeare had not arranged for the other characters to fool them. From her, I learn feminism is not about being better than men, but to respect them equally, even I do respect her for courage to fight for rights of women.

As humans, we all have "blemishes" of all sorts. It is therefore impossible for us to choose a truly impeccable role model. Yet, this does not stop us from seeing people's respectable aspects. What's more, from their past errors, we get a form of admonition, with which we can shape ourselves further, avoiding future mistakes that may hinder us.