IELTS :Some people think that professional athletes make good role models for young people

Some people think that professional athletes make good role models for young people, while others believe they don't.

Discuss both these points of views and give your own opinion.

The role sports stars plays in today's society have raised many doubts. Some people believe it is beneficial for a young individual to follow their national heroes yet others assert that it could harm youth in many ways. This essay will discuss both views before stating my opinion.

Perhaps, the major argument that is made in favor of idealizing a sport player is related to patriotism. Indeed, watching their favorite super stars preforming for their country usually instills the sense of pride. For example, when a player represents and wins for their nation it makes the whole young generation proud and increases their love and support for the country. A further point is that, following a sports player encourages a young person to adopt a healthy and disciplined lifestyle, as players often require maintaining a strict discipline to perform for their people. Thus, it clearly shows that sport athletes can have a great influence on young adults.

However, while they have positive influence on youth, there are also potential dangers following these so called national heroes. With the fame and money some player's insatiable greed for wealth also grows. For example, recently, many cricket stars were found guilty in match fixing cases. Incidents like this could seriously affect young individual's personality. In addition to that, young children are not mature enough to distinguish reality and fiction, especially when they cannot afford a lavish lifestyle as their role models leads them to the feeling of inadequacy and dissatisfaction. As a result, imitating national heroes can negatively influence young people.

In conclusion, I believe, sports celebrities plays a vital role in inspiring young generation, Although at times they can negatively influence youth yet an overwhelming majority of young generation is sensible enough to decide what is right for them.