Can we lose our cultural identity because of the mass communications and transport? IELTS TASK 2

TOPIC :

As mass communication and transport continue to grow, societies are becoming more and more alike leading to a phenomenon known as globalization. Some people fear that globalization will inevitably lead to the total loss of cultural identity.

TO what extend do you agree or disagree?

Globalisation cannot be avoided these days since the development of technology in communication and transportation. Some people believe it will lead to wipe out the nation culture. Even though this matters carrying an immense benefit, I definitely agree that sooner or later mass communication and transport will vanished our cultural identity.

Technology in transportation such aero plane gives us a lot of benefit like travel around the world just in few hours. Besides that, the mass transmittal information media let us to keep up to date with recent global news. For instance, Youtube has provides billions of videos in every category includes movie trailer, recent news, or the nation culture event. It allows us to learn and understand each rich-culture in the world. So, they tend to keep the culture in different forms.

On the other hand, I extremely agree that technological growth leads us to forget our identity. It happens in developed country as Indonesia. The youngsters of Indonesia inclined to learn western culture then their own nation-culture. Harajuku, Pop, and Music rock are more popular than traditional music (Gamelan) among young generation people in Indonesia. In addition, thanks to airplane technology which bring more foreign people come to another country and disrupt the origin way of life.

The aforementioned evidence reveals that mass communication and transport will abolish the tradition slowly. Where possible, the government should create a regulation in order to protect the cultural identity.