Nowadays, a lot of new, big supermarkets are appearing every day - what about local business?

Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarket in some countries, many small, local business are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local business will bring about the death of local communities.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

small shops face extinction

Nowadays, a lot of big supermarkets are appearing every day. Some people say that it could ruin local businesses because they can't compete with supermarkets and it would be the end of small businesses. I partially agree with the idea that supermarkets are strong and it is hard for local shops to fight with them, but I think they still can protect themselves, sure they will have fewer customers, but it is not the end. I'm going to describe why, in following paragraphs.

First of all, The big supermarkets with so many branches have a lot of resources which makes it hard for local shops to win. Supermarkets can offer various kinds of discounts and make special plans for their loyal customers, they can present goods for different tastes. Personally, when I have to buy lots of stuff, I prefer going to one supermarket instead of going to different small stores.

On the other hand, supermarkets are often hard to reach, usually, because of the distance and traffic, people can't go to them for every little item. It is when the small shops come in handy. There has always been a small shop available in the neighborhood that can fulfill people's basic needs.

In conclusion, even though the supermarkets are very useful both for people and economy and of course made our life much easier, everyone prefers to get basic items from the nearest small shop in the neighborhood with a friendly and familiar face. And that's the reason, although local shops can't compete with big supermarkets, they still can survive if they change their business plan tiny bit.