Maintaining public library with computer or conventional way? IELTS Task 2

Maintaining public libraries is a waste of money since computer technology can replace their functions. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the advance of technology eases human beings' job in many sectors, including management of public libraries. Consequently, numerous people consider that computerization of book's database has to be applied to change the manual management once. In this case, I believe that computing is useful to manage the book systems in huge library, but the conventional way should be defended to reduce the risk, caused by malware though spending much more money.

Commonly, conventional way to maintain the books manually has to be applied to support the computerization because by this the librarian can effectively control the database of books without worrying about the virus in the computer. For instance, the National Library of Indonesia merely uses the management of book from professional staff to support the cybernation system. Finally, the harm, resulted when the data are attacked malware can be minimized. There is no doubt that the maintaining public library is useful to support computer system.

The computerization eases the public libraries' workers to organize library system which is more complicated. It is because this can easily classify the huge number of books effectively and efficiently. For instance, Senayan Library Management System (SLiMS) is software which can be used all librarians in Indonesia to manage the books online. Consequently, SLiMS can help the librarians to deal with the proportion of books' reference which is more and more increased.

To sum up, it is evident that the manual and computerized ways have to be applied together to hinder the possibility of virus attack in computer. In this sector, the government in each country should encourage the cybernation process as supporting manual management of public libraries and provides a certain budget to finance it.