Computer technology vs Maintaining public libraries

money required to maintain a physical library

In the modern life, some people believe that the maintenance of public libraries is wasting money from the budget because computer technology is now taking over the role of them. While I accept that technology is developing faster than ever, I do believe that public libraries still play an important part of our lives.

On the one hand, the progress of computer technology is replacing libraries' function. First of all, computers contain a limitless supply of digital-based information and up-to-date reading materials about every field. In just a few seconds searching, people can find thousands of result and a wide rage of information in the internet such as Google. Secondly, thanks to the development of computer technology, human is able to look for knowledge and information in an easiest and fastest way. By computer people can access any web or source of information even when at home and do not have to go for a long distance to library.

On the other hand, I personally argue that public libraries still play a pivotal role in our lives because of some several reasons. Initially, public libraries encourage human to read books and help people who do not have computer or smart phone is able to collect knowledge. Moreover, qualified books tend to have various reliable sources of information. It make sure that readers likely to have correct awareness about every field that they research and limit the problem of misinformed public.

In conclusion, it is certainly true that computer technology is now taking over the role of public libraries, but this is by no means that the maintenance of libraries are not necessary for people to collect information.