IELTS: Marriages are bigger and more expensive nowadays than in the past. Why is this?

I would very much appreciate if somone check only two last paragraphs of my essay, especially the use of articles:

This phenomenon is also associated with several drawbacks. This kind of wedding undoubtedly places a tremendous pressure on young couples who want to settle down at a younger age. Since they are at the beginning of their careers, they can hardly afford such costly weddings. As a result, some young adults have become reluctant to fly the family nest and defer their marriage plan to a future time. Furthermore, images of lavish weddings on television or in magazines cause an increase in materialism in the society. People are likely to judge the happiness of a couple based on the setup of a wedding or how much a couple spend on the ceremony. This dilutes the true purpose of weddings, which should be an act that unites a man and a woman for the rest of their life's journey.

In conclusion, wedding is an important event in life, very solemn indeed, but it does not mean that it has to be expensive or pompous, as recommended these days. In my opinion, exorbitant weddings are a waste of time and money, and denial rather than confirmation of what the marriage should be about.