IELTS TASK 2 - MASS MEDIA SHOULD PAY MORE ATTENTION TO ORDINARY PEOPLE

The media pay too much attention to the lives and relationships of celebrities such as actors, singer or footballers. They should spend more time reporting the lives of ordinary people instead.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The mass media plays an essential role to spread the information to the public. Since people are always interest with celebrities' life especially their fans, they have been appeared on television and other media. While, the journalist tend to expose the celebrity lifestyles and relationship as people enjoy knowing about them, I extremely believe that the mass media should inform about lives of ordinary people.

Nowadays, it is clear that there is a wide gap between a star and a usual people from the media side. Reporters disseminate so many programmes about scandals or gossip of celebrities on television and internet. Taking the United States as an example, The U.S. mass media are only focused on sports, the lives of various celebrities, and a Congressman's relationship. Even though sometimes the media provides the important news related to celebrities such as the result of football player competition, but most of them gives useless information like the birth of star couple child. Therefore, it just waste much time and lack sense of journalism.

On the other side, more attention should be given on ordinary people live by mass media. The societies tend to follow the star news as they must serve their entertainment necessity. However, showing the common people experiences probably can inspire other. Anurag Gupta, a 30-year-old Indian immigrant, founded of "Be More", a nonprofit organization that uses research, storytelling and online social communities to bring change to the systems that perpetuate social inequity in America. Finally, he has inspired many people to become more care to others.

The aforementioned evidence reveals that the journalist should limit the celebrities' news and only shows the important information. In addition, the ordinary people must be given more attention especially their inspiring experiences.