Men and women should not share the same responsibilities

Men and Women can never share the same responsibilities at home and in everyday life. Do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that there is a huge difference between men and women that prohibits them from taking charge for the same tasks at home and in society. Personally, I wholeheartedly disagree with this notion since the emergence of gender equality has promoted the chances for both sexes to have the same social role.

Firstly, males and females have the same responsibility in the modern community. Indeed, in the past, there was a prejudice that boys are better at natural science, while girls are superior at humanities subjects, leading to biased preference of occupations among genders. However, in contemporary context, both genders are given a bigger opportunity to learn a more exhaustive variety of subjects, which assists them to have more knowledge to independently decide their career, thereby bridging the gender gap in different fields. For example, Angela Markel was the first woman in Germany to be appointed as chancellor, an occupation that was mainly held by men.

Secondly, household responsibilities between men and women are becoming more balanced. Previously, the stereotype that household chores are merely the obligation of women, and men should be the breadwinner of the family was dominated in traditional society. In contrast, in this day and age, given the innovative educational curricula, this discrimination is eventually eradicated, not only causing more males to perceive the importance of sharing housework with their wife but also facilitating more opportunities for females to become financial contributors to their family. Consequently, this positive tendency has ultimately transformed the conventional distinct roles of men and women in the family into complementary roles.

In conclusion, I strongly disagree with the statement that men and women can never share the same obligation at home and in daily life because along with the advancement of gender equality, there have been a lot of prospects for both sexes to share the same missions.