Millions of people have now the Internet access, surfing online has become a common thing

IELTS Writing Task 2 - Advantages and Disadvantages

Topic: Buying things on the Internet, such as books, air tickets and groceries, is becoming more and more popular.

Do the advantages of shopping in this way outweigh the disadvantages?

With the strong development of the Internet, millions of people can now easily access the Internet via their smart devices. Online shopping, therefore, becomes more popular than ever, originally from books to even daily groceries. In my opinion, their advantages definitely beyond the disadvantages.

On the one hand, there are some drawbacks that prevent people from buying things online. The first reason is the feeling. They cannot touch, smell, or try on carefully before making the decisions. This can lead to unsatisfied when the goods are delivered. Secondly, the fraud will be another problem that could occur. There will happen the circumstance that the sellers do not deliver the product after receiving money. The shopper will be tricked for money by the unreal products.

On the other hand, the advantages of this new shopping way are more weighted. The first benefit that can be easily seen is convenience. By only several clicks or touch, people can buy anything from books, clothes, tools, or even food without going out. By this way, people can save a lot of time traveling to the stores, especially benefit for busy people. For example, people can now sit in their homes with the pizza will be served at their place about thirty minutes after some clicks. Secondly, online shopping platforms can provide a wide range of products with many suppliers. They sell everything as in the physical stores. People can easily find their needs and compare the price among sellers quickly before making the decision. These advantages absolutely surpass the inconveniences.

In conclusion, although online shopping still remains some drawbacks, it now becomes more and more popular, I am of the opinion that the advantages are outweighed.