Essay about minority languages

'As language such English, Spanish and Mandarin become more widely spoken, there is a fear that many minority languages may die out. Some countries have taken steps to protect minority languages.

What is your view of this practice?'

Nowadays languages such as English, Spanish or Mandarin are pervasive in our modern world. Some people are afraid that this can be reason for the disappearance on minority languages. However, some countries attempt to keep them despite difficulties.

I assist that minority languages are a significant part in the cultural self-determination of each nation It is a basis of their traditions and diversity. Thus, people should continue to maintain minority languages.

It is a universal truth that languages may die out if nobody will use them. For instance, Latin was one of the most popular language many years ago. Scientists wrote their important works on it; ordinary people spoke it in their daily life. Nevertheless, society can see Latin only in medicine and does not use this language appropriately. It can be unique experience to meet a person who can speak Latin. However, the knowledge of this language can be also vital for study and research of history of preceding years.

At the same time, there are exceptions of keeping languages. The government of some countries has a policy to preserve minority languages in education and broadcast media. For example, this method is used in Ireland for conservation of Irish language. Although, there are two official languages in some states or in regions of countries. For instance, there are two national languages in Republic of Tatarstan: Tatar and Russian. All information from administrative centers is presented on two languages. In addition, children study Tatar and Russian at school.

In conclusion, the issue of the vanishing of minority languages is actually topical at the present time. The language shapes the culture diversity and national society. Therefore, the problem of the disappearance of minority languages should be tackles immediately.