In this modern society, the more languages you can speak, the more competitive you are

Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In modern society, the more languages you can speak, the more competitions you have. Since this phenomenon, it becomes popularly for parents to raise their children' interest toward a foreign language. Even more, some researchers state that it is better to start leaning a new language in the early age. In my opinion, I support this illustration under some conditions, and my statements are following.

Firstly, the biggest concerned about learning another language in early age is the children may not focus on their mother language properly. The primary school seems to be the first place for them to access their own language officially. They are going to learn the grammar, the punctuation and the correct usage of a language. It might be a struggle for them to learn two languages in meanwhile. Secondly, learning a new language may cause extra pressure to the children. In some countries, especially in Asia, parents expect them to be successful in the future. Even the students of primary school have a lot of homework and extra activities. It is cruel to put further burden on them.

However, in my view, I think this is a good chance for young children to access a foreign language. In the first place, because a language is a first step to experience a different culture, in term of thinking, concept and attitude, children can border their horizon by studying a new language. Especially in the early progress, exploring a new culture can accumulate great resources before they grow up. Next, people often regret starting too late to learn a brand new language because of the poor memory. It is obvious that the youth have better memory than the elderly so as to proof that the earlier children leaning a language, the better outcome they could have.

To sum up, learning a foreign language is definite a good thing, but for the very young kids, there are lots pros and cons need to be considered. Under no circumstance should children sacrifice their precious childhood only for meeting the expectation of being a competitive person in the future.