PROBLEMS AND PRACTICABILITY OF LIVING WHERE PEOPLE SPEAK FOREIGN LANGUAGES

LANGUAGE BARRIERS ABROAD

Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems

Humans have been far developing to such an extent that great concerns have been placed on language barriers raised by living in a foreign nation. From my perspective, I agree that this exerts both positive and negative influences on our societies, which will be thoroughly discussed in the following essay.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that living with foreigners can cause an enormous number of problems. Firstly, individuals may have difficulties in making friends in their current neighboUrhood. As it is our nature to get close to those from the same areas, foreigners might find it hard to join them. As a result, newcomers may suffer from isolation; therefore, severe mental illnesses. Additionally, communities might face social chaos resulting from the innative. Once entering the country, these people may encounter misunderstandings due to cultural gaps. This can even lead to authoritative troubles, profoundly threatening international residents.

On the other hand, living where supports foreign accents are used undoubtedly does enormous wonders to us. Obviously, people might stand a better chance of developments in their working fields. They can gain better knowledge about the nation, which is required in a seriously globalised world. Consequently, more opportunities for improvement, especially in their career perspectives, will be created for them. Furthermore, international residents might have their soft skills greatly enhanced. In accordance with a recent survey, the bilinguals are recorded to outperform the monolinguals with the same backgrounds in problem-solving and cognitive thinking.

In conclusion, advantageous living overseas might be, its downsides towards societies should never be overlooked. Thus, it is imperative that people be fully aware of these influences in order to gain holistic benefits.