IELTS - Modern technology now allows rapid and uncontrolled access to information

Modern technology now allows rapid and uncontrolled access to and exchange of information.

Far from being beneficial , this is a danger to our societies.

What are your views?

Modern technology transformed our life through accessing information in all arenas. It let us getting knowledge, and data easily and rapidly in few seconds from different places over the world. This offer a question whether these huge pieces of information affect individual's life negatively . Some people consider this technology as an efficient tool to facilitate our daily life, while the other believe that it is can be source of dangers. In my view, this technology is two-face sword, we can benefit from it but with regulated restrictions.

As you roam your eyes everywhere you will see that technology is a crucial factor in different fields. For example, mobile phones give us the opportunity to communicate with other people all over the world, exchange personal pictures and massages, gossip talks, and send various types of digital files. In addition, technology enable the university students and professors to read thousands of electronic precious books and resources, to prepare their searches and theses and to apply distant learning. Moreover, most of trade companies and business men use video conference in meetings ,buy and sell online, process their own data and manipulate it through technological appliances such as laptops and I-pads. Undoubtedly ,this phenomena dominated our life.

On the other hand, we should look at negative side of technology. First, hackers succeed in stealing money from banks or individuals by accessing their accounts in websites. For example, a clever hacker stole $ 10,000 from my friend by getting the password of his account. Second, some criminals and terrorists use this technology in executing their crimes in societies such as killings, smuggling drugs and weapons, and kidnapping by social media websites. Finally, curious children and teenagers are susceptible to adverse effects in dealing with technology by contact with dangerous people or getting harmful information that related to sex, beauty or medicine. For example, I read a story about 16-year-old girl who drank herbal mixture that she got its constituents from internet to lose her weight, and unfortunately she died.

Despite the fact that there is a reasonable likelihood to encounter hazardous events from technology, that does not warrant dispense with it, otherwise, the governments must take concrete steps to protect individuals. First, set laws to regulate using technology and punish criminals and hackers strictly. Second, raise the awareness of people about the dangers of this modern tools. Finally, cooperate with civic organization and private sectors to develop the security and surveillance on their websites and digital devices.

In conclusion, I believe that although modern technology is dangerous but its advantages will exceed its negatives if we restrict and adjust accessing the information.