[IELTS Task 2]Should museums charge for admission

Question

Many museums charge for admission while others are free.

Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

My answer

Should museums charge for admission

It is controversial that whether museums should be freely open to public - some of them already do, while others do not. In my own opinion, having museums that are free of charge always comes with a lot of benefits.

Firstly, museums always play an important role in not only managing the collections but also educating people, especially the young students, who can hardly afford the tickets. As an art student myself, there has always been mesmerizing experiences for me to visit museums where I got inspiration and motivation. It would be a heavy burden to go to museums with admission charge every week, for many students just like me.

Furthermore, free museums may seem much more accessible to the public when many people still don't have the habits to visit art exhibits regularly and don't know why they should pay for them. Unless the museum is known by everyone and praised everywhere, charging from people would greatly reduce its attractiveness to most of the public, and thus making itself harder to survive without support from the society.

Someone may argue that the funds from visitors are important for museums to obtain and maintain. However, the problem could be more easily solved by demanding more financial help from charities and the governments. In conclusion, there are much more advantages than disadvantages, for both the public and the museums, to have free admission for visiting.