Music - a method for entertaining or an essential impact on society? Ielts 2 essay

SOME SAY THAT MUSIC PLAYS AN IMPORTANT ROLE IN SOCIETY WHILE OTHERS THINK IT IS SIMPLY A FORM OF ENTERTAINMENT.

DISCUSS BOTH VIEWS AND GIVE YOUR OWN OPINION.

Opinions are divided on whether music is just a method for entertaining, or whether it has an essential impact on society. While I understand why some people support the former view, I am still in favour of the latter.

Those who believe that music is simply a form of entertainment may have several arguments. From their point of view, there are many ways to entertain better than music, so music does not have major influences on them. People will underestimate the importance of music if they feel interested in sport. Another point is that some of us may not gain advantages such as relaxation, joy from music. This is the factor behind the reason why people ignore the positive role of music and assess it is just a form of entertainment.

Nevertheless, I still think that those who believe that music is essential in society for several reasons. Chief among these is that music has profound impacts on our mental health. It helps us relax and reduce the risk of stress. Furthermore, choosing appropriate types of music to listen to at different time in a day can improve memory and concentration. Looking at the second idea, music plays an important role in life because it offers chances for us to have a job related to this field. For instance, due to music, not only do musicians compose a lot of popular songs but also theaters can maintain their operation. This allows us to make a living and boost our life quality.

In conclusion, despite acknowledging why people think that music is normally a form of entertainment, I still hold the belief that it has enormous influences on our society.