Music cannot be prioritized by its importance - each genre has its own purpose

Why do we need music? Is the traditional music of a country more important?

There are many different types of music in the world today. Why do we need music? Is the traditional music of a country more important than the International music that is heard everywhere nowadays? Use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

Today's world is flooded with numerous types of music. We need music because it helps us to relax, to express our emotions, to feel better after all. Furthermore, music literally may unify people, acting as a common language. One may assume that traditional music is more important than international music which is much more popular these days. However, in my opinion traditional music is as important as international, because while traditional music helps people with keeping their cultural identity international music is something that people may choose according to their personal preferences.

First of all, there are people who can do well without music in their life but they are in a minority. For the majority of people each part of their entity is saturated with music. They may have neither an ear for music, nor even ability to distinguish any musical instrument while listening to their favourite musical band; nonetheless, this fact has nothing to do with their ability to appreciate music. Music, like magic, may help people of different ages and cultures act as if they were best friends. This can be seen at some musical events such as rock concerts where people hold each other's hands and jump for joy.

There are still some people who think that traditional music is more important than international. They fear that traditional music may vanish soon or better to say, may be dissolved in the bottomless ocean of international music. However, like other attributes of cultural identity, traditional music will always be protected by minorities. For example, some popular string instruments, such as setar in Iran and balalaika in Russia, in spite of being unpopular nowadays, are being mastered by number of musicians in these countries. In most cases, people who play traditional instruments are not locked-up within their own culture respecting a wide-range of music genres.

To summarize, music is extremely important to almost all people around the globe. It affects people's mood and can unify young and old, poor and rich, bright and dull. Music also cannot be prioritized by its importance. Although some individuals may prefer traditional music over international, each genre has its own purpose; therefore any attempt to prioritize one over another would be incorrect.