The importance of art, music and drama especially at primary level

Some say that music, art and drama are as important as other school subjects, especially at the primary level.

Do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that schools should ensure that equal attention is given to subjects of art, music and theatre as any other subject, especially during the early school years. I strongly agree with this statement as these areas of study stimulate creativity and enhance self-confidence in young minds and also opens the possibility of having a career in different performance arts.

Firstly, elementary school students can benefit greatly from performance art in terms of improving their self-confidence and opening their minds to a world of imagination. An explanation for this is that children at a younger age have a great thirst for knowledge and are more susceptible to learning new skills. They are encouraged to apply their brains beyond textbooks, and instead practise their creativity to innovate and invent. Furthermore, often students learning music work in a team as part of a choir which helps develop their personality. For instance, children studying acting have to speak in front of large audiences and this helps them overcome fears of public speaking. Therefore, these subjects are important to create dynamic personalities.

Secondly, by introducing and training children in these creative skills at the primary level sets them up for a potential career in one these fields. There are always students who have a natural talent for drawing or those who prefer to enhance their singing skills more than studying science and maths. This talent can be harnessed and the progenies may grow up to be successful if they are provided with an opportunity to study these subjects from a very young age.

In conclusion, I believe performance art subjects deserve to be credited as important as all other subjects it is beneficial for future of the students. Art, music and drama assist in nurturing dynamic personalities as well as in paving a professional path for young children in these fields.