Nationality of natural persons in relation to the succession of States. Country: Indonesia

i'm submitting this as part of my college app - Academic paper on one of the most complex issues of international law, they require an academic paper you've written in the course of junior and senior year. This academic paper should have everything they say here: "An academic writing sample allows applicants to demonstrate their preparedness for the rigorous academic environment at Lang that demands a strong analytic mind, ability to convey ideas clearly, and desire to grapple with challenging texts. Please submit an academic paper that showcases your ability to present a thesis, support your argument, and cite sources."

_____________________________________________________

Here's the assignment:"Express the position of Indonesia on the topic: Nationality of natural persons in relation to the succession of States."

_____________________________________________________________________________________________

Topic:Nationality of natural persons in relation to the succession of States. Country: Presidential Republic of Indonesia.

______________________________________________________

The State succession is the replacement of one State by another in the responsibility for the international relations of territory; natural persons in general, is a member of the human species susceptible to incur obligations and acquire fundamental rights, such as nationality, which constitutes the legal status of these persons; the nationality of natural persons in the succession of States is one of the most complex issues of international law, the difficulty comes as a result of the way in which constitutional frameworks have tended to regard it more as a legal status of the person, rather than inherent right.

Indonesia has addressed the issue of the succession of States several times before the international community, and although we have not left a clear position on the issue, we have demonstrated our interest in reaching the solution of the problem that this presents. Similarly, we recognize our history of conflict in terms of succession of States, and we are not proud of all the mistakes we've committed before the international community and the different courts, but we hope that through the dialogue between nations we can reach a solution that benefits everyone involved, and only when we achieve this, we can be proud of who we are as a nation.

We understand that this is a controversial issue since the nationality of a state concerns exclusively to its domestic law, but nevertheless we argue that the discretionary quality may be limited by its obligations to other States, and the effective guarantee of human rights; the importance of protecting and ensuring the proper exercise of this right is such that the relevance and viability for the permanence of many other rights depends on its effectiveness. Nationality is a right that is not subject to the political will of States, and therefore this must be secured in every succession of States.

Aware that the nationality of a State concerns exclusively to its domestic law, we emphasize that problems of nationality arising from succession of States concerns to the international community. This is why we ensure that the eradication of this problem is our responsibility as a whole, and only by working together can we achieve that the assurance of nationality in the succession of State doesn't remain uncertain, but guaranteed.