GRE: "All nations should help support the development of a global university"

here is my issue, plz give some advices, thx a loooooooot...

TOPIC: ISSUE11 - "All nations should help support the development of a global university designed to engage students in the process of solving the world's most persistent social problems."

In ancient Babylon, when people still spoke a single language, the Tower of Babel was not built because god confused people's language. In today, a global university seems to be another Tower of Babel because now human are not only with different language but also with different cultures, values, races and religions.

Such a global university will surely contribute to tackling some global social problems which requiring co-operations between nations. In this university, students from different countries with different cultures can exchange their opinion about world's social problem. By doing this, students broaden their views and are able to compromise when co-operating with other countries' students. These are all beneficial for solving world's persistent social problems.

However, there is always big gap between ideal and reality. Governments should not support it because it is impractical.

In the first place, coming with lots of potential disputes and anticipated difficulties, building such a university is a world's problem itself. Like other world's social problems, this plan also evolves different cultures, values and interests between nations. When things become complicated in that way, it is nearly impossible for global co-operations. To prove this, we only have to look back the countless conferences about the Tyoto Protocol. Still, emission level increased sharply during last decade. So, this plan is just another global problem, hard for politician to have a agreement on and solve.

In the second place, though every nation agrees to build this university, there are lots of potential hard problems to come over. For example, building and running such a university costs a lot of money and some developing countries maybe can not afford their shares of this bill. If rich countries pay more, the university may come out at the cost of losing its independence and autonomy. Secondly, the location of this university is also another anticipated issue. Naturally, most nations will want this university to build in their country so that they can somehow influence the students with their culture and value. In all, there are too many questions about the university to make the plan impractical to carry out.

Rather than build such a university, we have other practical alternatives to solve the global social problems. One of them is to send exchange students between countries. By doing this, the next generations of the earth may have a better understanding with each other. If American students spend some time in South Africa to see the poverty of this country and how people are seared in the horrible fire of AIDS there, they will understand why South Africa counterfeited the expensive AIDS drugs invented by American pharmaceutical factory without paying expensive licensing fee. .

To sum up, a global university is like the Tower of Babel for human to realize. Human with different value and competing interests always find hard for them to work together for one goal. However, the nations still have to tackle the world's most persistent social problems, not in a global university but in more practical and efficient ways.