IELTS Essay about the necessary of recycling laws

The task is: "Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement.

To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?"

"It is assumed that there is a moderate amount of waste from housing are recycled. Therefore, introducing a law is the best way for authorities to urge residents to recycle. From my perspective, I believed that laws are essential to encourage people to recycle because they will guarantee the effectiveness and raise public awareness.

First of all, laws play a crucial role in the society, as all people are forced to follow in order not to pay fines or receive a punishment. Therefore, enacting a legal requirement on recycling strongly encourages people to take actions. Moreover, this will increase people's tendency and ensure all the housing wastes are treated correctly, leading to the effective assurance and success. Take Singapore, for example, by introducing strict rules in recycling and environment, the nation achieved a great success in environmental protection and became one of the cleanest countries in the world.

In addition, enacting laws also raise people's consciousness of environmental issues. By implementing legal regulations, residents can realise the importance of recycling, therefore, they will form a sense of responsibility and self-awareness. In other words, laws make people conscious of the severe environmental problems and encourage them to take action proactively, such as recycle. This can be exemplified by the recycling law introduced in Japan, which forces people to classify wastes into three different types and recycle. The laws soon became the residents' daily habit and continues to be implemented effectively.

In condusion, I strongly agree that legal regulations are vital to stimulate recycling, as they bring the assurance in the result and raise public responsibility."