IELTS WRITING; a recycling law is not a vital factor to change the public awareness of recycling

are laws needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

Although the new legislation can tackle a part of this situation, I do not totally agree that a recycling law is vital factor to change the public awareness of recycling.

In my opinion, a new recycling law would be one possible way to let people obey the recycling obligations. While violating this law, you will give different levels of punishments. For example, people who fail to adhere to this law need to accept penalties ranging from a small fine to community services, or even going to jail for repeated offenders. These measures could encourage people to obey the recycling law. As a result, the environment would become more and more clean and waste-free for everyone by improved behaviors of homeowners.

Along with legal sanctions, the government has to increase the public's awareness of their behaviors and environmental education. For example, it is an efficient way to teach children about recycling knowledges in school. Even more, the government can held a recycling activity to teach homeowners about the environmental impacts of household waste. Besides, the government can invest the money to develop recycling facilities and systems, so that waste is processed more effectively. Combing these measures becomes a long-term way to deal with recycling problems.

In conclusion, making recycling law just tackle a part of recycling problems. The government needs to combine other measures to encourage people to dispose their waste more responsibility.