Which is needed more: formal qualifications or practical skills to do the job better?

pRACTICAL SKILLS versus THEORETICAL KNOWLEDGE

IN TODAY'S JOB MARKET IT IS FAR MORE IMPORTANT TO HAVE PRACTICAL SKILLS THAN THEORETICAL KNOWLEDGE. IN THE FUTURE, JOB APPLICANTS MAY NOT NEED ANY FORMAL QUALIFICATIONS.

TO WHAT EXTENT DO YOU AGREE OR DISAGREE?

Nowadays, in this high competitive world, people need to prepare the essential skills in order to seize as many opportunities as possible, especially in the working environment. It is suggested that there is no need for personnel to have formal qualifications in the near future because sufficient practical skills may surpass the need for academic knowledge. I must take issue with this point of view as the lack of theoretical background may hinder us from doing our best job.

Firstly, qualifications speak the volume of one's knowledge and ability to work, without them, employees may find it hard to complete the given tasks which reversely has negative influences on their work performance. For example, in order to fix a machine, a mechanic has to know the way it works inside out. Of course not having theoretical knowledge does not necessarily mean that we are limited in the every aspects of the work, but it is better to know the techniques and the reasoning of the whole thing. If we keep doing the job only by mimicking the predecessors or following our experience and the know-how, there will be no evolution or new ideas being made because we do not understand the the function of the system.

Secondly, if qualifications are to be abolished, the intellectual level of people will be degraded as well. No one will be willing to attend or pay for academic classes as the qualifications they receive are no longer useful for their future carrier. Therefore, millions of children might drop out of school despite the fact that educational environment is ideal for them to learn social skills and enlarge their horizons. They will only focus on obtaining experiences for the job they like and this might lead to the increasing amount in child labour which is the last thing that governors want to see in their future generation.

All things considered, the knowledge accumulated through books and teachers plays an important key in our life as we grow up as well as our work performances. Therefore, we should combine the two distinct approaches to learn and work in an appropriate way.