IELTS TASK 2: NEGATIVE EFFECTS OF TOURISM ON THE DESTINATION COUNTRIES - statement verification

Some people say that tourism has many negative effects on the countries that people travel to.

How true is this statement? What can tourist do to reduce the harmful effects of tourism on local cultures and environments?

Many citizens argue that tourism has lots of drawbacks on the tourism destinations. It is justified to say that some kind of journey activities have some detriments, such as environment disaster and stress on infrastructure, but the holidaymaker can preserve the local cultures and surrounding area as the solution toward these problems.

These days and ages, traveling is becoming more and more popular among people and brings harmful effects on the destination countries. Firstly, uncontrolled number of tourists will lead to the incapability of nature to deal with the tourism pressure. As a result, there will be the improvement of the pollution and waste, tightness of water resources and put the local inhabitants competing with foreigners to use the limited assets. Furthermore, the explosion of visitors will force the local government to develop the infrastructure. For instance, the roads must be wider to deal with the traffic which is busier, and cause more natural habitat loss. As a consequence, tourism heightened the deforestation level and danger many species of animals.

However, this is not mean that there is no solution toward this problems. The travellers can avoid or minimize the detrimental by preserve the local cultures and environments. For example, by manage the local resources consuming and use the infrastructure wisely. In addition, the tourists can make a good write about local traditions to promote them. Thus, the foreigners can help the development of regional tourism and maintain the natural surroundings. To conclude, the holidaymaker can reduce the harmful effects of travelling activities.

In conclusion, even excursion brings drawbacks such as natural damages and strain on the local buildings, there are some preserving acts which will scale it down and can be done by the holidaymakers.