non-exam, arts-based subjects should be compulsory in the secondary curriculum. Agree or disagree?

mandatory arts subjects at Schools?

Artistic subjects and other lessons which do not require examinations are believed to be obligatory in secondary level of education, according to some educational specialists, since improved learning results can be seen . For personal opinion, I totally concur on this belief because of two reasons.

First of all, the betterment of academic transcript of a student is linked to the intervention of non-scientific subjects through the. Relating to practical findings, students who are given exposure to music, art and drama are able to perform twice as well as the others in class. It can be explained that the neurons are stimulated to work more efficiently with the harmonious combination of science and arts in education. Therefore, these extra-curriculum will support the overall development of brains, leading to the outstanding in-class performance of students.

The second reason is the equilibrium in the average scores of all subjects. In fact, if optional and non-exam lessons following as art, drama or drawing are made unimportant, the students have the tendency to ignore it and pay more attention to other required ones namely Mathematics, Physics and Chemistry and hence, higher points can only be recorded in these subjects rather than extra activities. For this reason, an equilibrium in study is essential for comprehensive improvement in all school subjects.

In brief, my view is to make every subject in the curriculum be mandatory, especially ones relating to art. I hope that this viable method will be applied by the Minister of Education and better average scores can be seen in the transcript of each student.