Nuclear war v.s. the Unitied Nations

Question:Although there is no longer an immediate threat of nuclear war, peace seems as elusive as ever. In order to address this problem, the United Nations should be given a stronger role in global affairs in order to bring about world peace.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Answer

Atomic booms, which brought the end to the World War Two, equip countries which have access to them with the power to deter the rest of the world by imbedding the apprehension of nuclear holocaust deeply into people's mind. It has been argued that the United Nations should be given more autonomy and authority to protect the world. However, I hold the opposite opinion.

The fundamental principle of determent is the ability to annihilate enemy, which is what nuclear weapons are capable of. Under this condition, the balance of world power has been achieved-countries possessing nuclear booms are afraid of their counterparts who have similar ability of destruction; countries without this power have to act diligently and cautiously and try to solve conflicts through diplomatic means. Therefore, the World War Three may never happen. However, if there were any inappropriate usage of this power, the consequence would be catastrophic. Thus it is imperative to impose absolutely rigid supervision on counties possessing this power.

Undeniably, the United Nations has taken a cardinal role to oversee the usage of nuclear power and curb nuclear proliferating, but this does not mean the UN should be given more power. The primary reason is that a more powerful United Nations may have the tendency to interfere some countries' domestic affairs. There are five countries which have the power of veto and, hence, these five countries would have the ability to act for their own benefits legitimately under the regime of the United Nations. Whenever countries resent decisions made by the United Nations, the UN has the power to "persuade" them by economic blockage, political intervention and even military invasion, which can be almost as destructive as atomic booms to small countries.

To conclude, it is important to understand the two-side effect of nuclear weapons and only by creating a multilateral world can we prevent the nuclear holocaust from happening. Giving too much power to the United Nations may be as dangerous as nuclear booms.