One of Edison's invention - Does this article sound good in English?
I have translated this passage from Arabic into English, and I want to know if it sounds good in English, and if there are grammatical mistakes. Thanks in advance.
One of Edison's invention
When Edison was fourteen, he worked at a railway station. He worked only at night.
However, Edison used to spend the whole day working on his experiments. As a result, he
would usually fall asleep during his work time, and he was not able to answer any of the
telegraphs sent from the other stations. The inspector, however, warned him several times
and ordered him to transmit a special signal every thirty minutes to prove that he is awake. Edison did as he was told only for a few nights, then he got tired of that. Therefore, he
invented a small machine that transmits that special signal automatically every thirty minutes.
Yet, at one night, the inspector tried to call Edison but Edison did not reply. The inspector
found it so strange, as the signals were transmitted regularly every thirty minutes. So, he
went quickly to the station where Edison was working, and he looked through the window.
There he found him in a deep sleep, while the small machine was sending the required signals
regularly. In fact, the inspector was so pleased with Edison's work; however, he could not let
him continue working at the station and dismissed him.