Online games should be banned. Do you agree or disagree with the statement? Justify your answer.

the prohibition of online games

In today's world, there is a boom in entertainment, and one of the most popular forms of which is online games. While it is sometimes considered a social malady that needs proscribing forthwith, I believe that it should be encouraged with moderation instead for some reasons.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that virtual games have some tangible negative effects on players in case of excessive approach. First and foremost, most internet-based games now are designed with many stimulating factors and hence it is easily addictive. Game addiction is partly similar to other types of addiction such as drugs or alcohol one, it leads to severe mental problems, namely stress, anxiety disorder, or even depression. Secondly, gamers' physical health is equally detrimentally impacted. A sedentary lifestyle spending a great deal of time in front of the screen without little or no exercise results in a recession of the body's defense system and thereby they are likely to suffer more common diseases like insomnia and obesity than normal people. Furthermore, an aspect that is believed to be affected is the players' personal life. When they are overmuch wrapped up in the cyber world, they will have less time to focus on their work, study, and relationships with other people. As a consequence, their labor effectiveness is reduced, they are no longer respected by others, and miss out on many values of life.

However, online games have been credited with certain advantages. To begin with, it serves the same purpose of bringing relaxation as other entertainment forms. Abstemious usage might alleviate the stress that can accumulate throughout a hard day at work. Additionally, gaming ameliorates a player's brain in the long run. In particular, to gain mastery of games, the user needs to harmoniously combine the dexterity of his hands with a nimble brain during the training period and real matches; thus, may improve his decision-making ability step by step. Finally, some indicate that playing games on the internet inadvertently promotes their process of studying languages. To explain this, the users might connect with other ones from all over the world via chatting or speaking directly during the match; therefore, they can acquire knowledge of vocabulary, slang, and grammar.

In summary, I strongly oppose the prohibition on online games despite its drawbacks besides positive influences. Whether it is beneficial or not lies in how much time one spends on them.